Cash for Clunkers Just Lost One Sale

I was pretty thrilled when I heard about the potential Cash for Clunkers legislation.  I have a 1997 Chrysler Sebring convertible sitting in my garage that doesn’t run.  The prospect of trading it in to help defray the cost of a new vehicle was really appealing.  I’d already started looking for a new Chrysler or perhaps a Chevrolet…I’d really like to do something, however small, to help out the domestic auto industry.

Then, I read the fine print…

Vehicles only qualify if they have a fuel rating of 17.9 or below.  Unfortunately, my car (when it ran) got about 20 miles per gallon.  I guess I won’t be buying a new vehicle after all.

Which leads me to ask this question.  Is the point of the legislation to stimulate the economy and help the auto industry, or is it a veiled attempt by environmentalists to advance their agenda? ?  I have no problem if people want to trade in a gas-guzzler for something more fuel efficient.  Overall, that’s probably a good thing…but why limit the legislation and exclude higher mileage vehicles?  A clunker is a clunker.  If somebody has a piece of junk that doesn’t run, let them trade it in.  It will lead to more sales and healthy economy…and isn’t that supposed to be the end goal?

2 Comments

  1. yes, the fine print gets us every time. As an alternative, donate to charity for a tax deduction — they’ll take it running or not. You could also give said clunker to the kids after a fix up for their first set of wheels. You’d be more of a hero than you already are!

Leave a Reply

