The “Nerd” Gets It…Snyder Campaign Communication Likely to Break Through

The election for state governor is a ways away, and I certainly haven’t decided on a candidate yet.  But, in the early stages, I’ve been very impressed with Rick Snyder’s communication approach.  His team is using a well-integrated approach using television, the Web and social media to reach key influencers.  His messaging strategy is refreshing… “vote for me…I’m a nerd.”

My first glimpse of Snyder’s candidacy came through Facebook.  A friend and business associate who I hold in high regard sent me a link to Snyder’s fan page.  At first, I ignored the request, but it still registered with me…I really need to check this guy out.

Within 24 hours, I saw a television commercial that was a clear departure from most political advertising.  Snyder didn’t try to look like a slick politician and he didn’t bash his opposition.  He was straight-forward and said something along the lines of“hey, I’m a nerd.  But, I have a plan.”  He described his 10-point plan as something so detailed most politicians “probably won’t even read it.”

Intrigued, I went to his Web site and read the outline of the plan…it is as straight-forward and sensible as his advertising approach.

Again, I’m not ready to throw my support behind Mr. Snyder, but as a communications professional, I’m impressed.  His non nonsense message is likely to resonate with voters and his media strategy will quickly and cost-effectively build a ground swell of support.

1 Comment

  1. Like you, I’m not sure who will get my eventual support, but the first time I saw Rick Snyder’s commercial – I belly-laughed, something RARE in political commercials. I’m so sick of the bashing and name-calling, so I certainly hope this is the beginning of the end of this kind of thing. I can tell you – the first person that comes out AGAINST Rick Snyder with some kind of bashing commercial against him will get my eternal loathing.

    I’ve read about a tenth of Mr. Snyder’s plan, and you’re right – I don’t think any politician is going to read it. They might have a lackey do it for them (and no, I’m not talking from experience. Not. At. All.)

    All I can say is Good Luck, Rick Snyder. If you’re the right nerd for the job, you’ve got a long treacherous road ahead of you that I don’t envy.

Leave a Reply

